RSS Feed

The Hummingbird

Hummingbird Cake (2)

Hi everyone, I hope you have all been enjoying the long week-ends we’ve been lucky enough to have here in S.A lately – I know so many people took full advantage and put in some well deserved leave in the odd days and was able to really enjoy some time off with extended days due to the public holidays. 

As you know Easter has just come and gone and I decided since I had a great deal of extra time on my hands I would get a little creative and try something different. I know I’ve seen pictures in recipe books and heard stories about how awesome this cake was, but until I tried it I was rather skeptical. I mean I’m not a fan of pineapples, fresh or out the tin and banana in the form of banana muffins/loaf/cake is a little boring in my opinion. However together these ingredients work magic in what’s known as the Hummingbird Cake. 

Hummingbird Cake (1)

It is a firm, but moist cake and I think what I love even more about it is the fact that it’s not overly sweet and really looks great in a modern rustic kind of way. A great Birthday cake that would wow friends and family alike, it’s something different in an awesome way.

Hummingbird Cake (5)

Hummingbird Cake (6)

Like most cakes this one has a long history and it’s fare share of drama – as there’s a heavy debate as to where this cake originates; Jamaica or the USA…? Well that’s a fight I will leave to the foodie historians as its been re-invented so many times to suit the ever changing taste of society – so in my humble opinion tracing it’s lineage could prove to be rather difficult.

So to put any other doubters to rest, the Hummingbird Cake is really a show stopper and definitely a cake to add to your repertoire if you bake regularly and enjoy something other than the usual suspects (chocolate, vanilla or red-velvet). The other wow factor this cake has is that with these ingredient you could get away with selling it as a “healthy” alternative as it’s made primarily of fruit… hahaha so for the weight conscious crowd this cake would be an instant hit. 

Hummingbird Cake (4)

I got my recipe off the net, at the Southern Living site:

 http://www.southernliving.com/food/entertaining/hummingbird-cake .

capture-20140430-125903

I just loved the picture they had in the magazine back then and just couldn’t resist sharing.

capture-20140430-125749

Hummingbird Cake (7)

There are a few more public holidays coming up and if, like me you enjoy having family or friends over… why not try your hand at making this awesome cake. As always I would love to hear from you… thoughts, comments and suggestions welcome.

Till next time, happy baking everyone

cupcake-couture.jpg

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska

joburg • food • travel

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes and Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

