RSS Feed

From Scratch

It is with much excitement that I am writing this post to share with you that after a few years of following recipe’s to the letter I have finally gathered the skill and the courage to make up my own.
 
As you know I have been on a bit of a health buzz lately so substituted a number of ingredients in the recipe’s I’ve been using and some how this has helped to unlock my own creativity and given me the confidence to write my own recipe from scratch.
 
1013233_584247314988419_662775565_n
 
It really wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be, but I think the trick is to ensure that you get your quantities correct – enough liquid ingredients vs dry ingredients. So recipe No.1 is done and dusted, very excited to share some more from the “Cupcake Couture Diary” – thought this would be a cool name for my own recipe creations.
 
So here they are… my Apple and Peach Oat and 4Seed strudel Muffins

Loaded Health Muffin(1)

Not to toot my own horn, but they really were a great hit. You know what most people hate about health muffins  are how dry they are, but these mini bombs of flavor were moist and light. They also baked to a nice golden brown with a bit of a chewy crust. The fruit wasn’t overly visible and the 4 seeds gave a nice little crunch to every bite.

Loaded Health Muffin(2)

If your keen to try them out, drop me a line and I’ll share it with you, they make +/- 24 units. Oh and 3 of the star ingredients is the Almond Milk, Organic or Regular Rolled Oats and the 4Seed Mix (Sunflower, Pumpkin, Flaxseed, Sesame). These seeds are so super healthy and give you an awesome energy boost you need, whether you enjoy them in the morning as a breakfast on the run or afternoon snack.
Switch up
Almond Milk, Rolled Oats and 4Seed Mix
 
I need to just add that I really appreciate all the support from all of you guys – for paying a keen interest in this blog, reading the posts and commenting really means a great deal; as I really enjoy getting feedback from you so please keep it up.
 
Happy Baking 

cupcake-couture.jpg

Ps: If your in the Cape Town area I hope to see you at the Constantia Market this coming week-end, I’ll be making my first trading appearance for the new year, so let me know if you would like more info (date and time) – I plan on having a great table of treats for sale.

 

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

4 responses »

  1. Congratulations….Master Baker 🙂 Very cute to read, I can feel your excitement jumping off the pages at me.

    Good job, I will have to try it soon :-)))))

    Hugs   Violet D. Adonis Registered Social Worker/Consultant BA SW (Cum Laude), MA (Oslo, Norway) Cape Town, South Africa Mobile No: 0726917620

    “The price of greatness is responsibility” – Winston Churchill

    Reply
    • Thanks Violet for always taking such a keen interest, I really appreciate all the love and support. It’s especially great when you receive interaction… it’s a reminder why you love doing the blog so much!

      Reply
  2. I hope that you document what you do and what you use because I make up recipes as I go along most of the time and when I find one that is really good I can not always remember what I did and used – the whisky that accompanies most of my more adventurous escapades doesn’t help

    Reply
    • Hahaha… Des you’re a classic, but so right… luckily I wrote it all down and as I twisted and changed the recipe around to perfect it, I re-wrote it each time… the old fashioned way. But your way sounds equally entertaining so you need to send me some of your run n raisin ice-cream the next time I work on a new recipe and let’s see how it goes from there

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes and Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

