RSS Feed

mmm…Breakfast Muffins

DSC01728

I found this awesome easy to make breakfast muffin recipe – it’s especially useful to grab when you’re busy and on the run. Breakfast is statistically the most important meal of the day and these little gems ensure that when I have a busy day planned I don’t skip it. I know they look a little small and you’re probably wondering how they fill you, but trust me they do and they are slow release, which means 1 muffin gives you enough energy to sustain you till lunch.

http://www.foodinaminute.co.nz/Recipes/Peach-and-Weet-Bix-Muffins

I found the recipe on Food in a minute (link above) and although I changed the recipe up slightly, it still turned out perfectly. I did some subtle substitutions as I am trying very hard to lessen my gluten intake. So instead of the 1 cup flour… I used 1/2 Almond Flour and 1/2 organic rolled oats. I also substituted the 2%milk with low fat coconut milk. You can also substitute the peaches with any other variety of canned fruit – just make sure it’s the reduced sugar option.

DSC01719

12 Muffins and 2 mini heart

Since deciding to introduce healthier alternatives to my diet without drastically changing my eating I’ve found I actually enjoy the whole lifestyle and would recommend that anyone wanting to lose a few extra kilo’s or wanting to improve their healthy foods intake use this method, rather than committing to a harsh diet that tells you it’s okay to enjoy cheat days… this way I don’t need a cheat day and I actually look forward to meals as I’m not being instructed to eating cardboard or drink flavorless soups.

DSC01737

Valentines day is also coming up, so I experimented with making some heart shaped muffins in my pink ramekins, and for an extra bit of love I dusted them lightly with some icing sugar. If you’re keen to give this a try you can pretty them up with extra fruit on the side, some coffee/tea/juice and flours from your garden, for that special someone on valentines day!

DSC01734

I hope you’re enjoying these posts… whilst business is quiet it gives me a great opportunity to share and connect with you guys on a different level.

 Happy Baking

cupcake-couture.jpg

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes & Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

