RSS Feed

Summer Sun, Health Breakfast and the Beach…

Summer Sun, Health Breakfast and the Beach…

Hi everyone… 2014 is getting off to a very healthy start – I’ve decided to challenge myself to get back into my university fit body. Not just in terms of weight, but also to feel healthier, happier and more energetic so I can really take on 2014.

Before I get to the edibles just for interest sake I’ve been following Cassey Ho from Blogilates as she unpacks a month long daily workout routine for beginners. Although I’m no stranger to Pilates or exercise it’s been a while, and I’m a little out of shape; so starting off at the beginning is great. If your keen, you are welcome to check her out on her web page: http://www.blogilates.com or on her youtube channel:  I’ve got the first workout for the beginners monthly calendar below. 

Anyway now that you know what I’m filling my extra time with I must add that along with the fitness routine comes a whole new menu. Please don’t get me wrong – I am still in love with all things sweet, decadent and dreamy… but since I’m going with this, I’m going to do it full circle. I’ve found some awesome blogs that I’m following on my Facebook page; which I’ve been using for my meal inspirations.

If your keen I will be more than happy to share our evening meal calendar with you, as well as awesome links to some of the blogs I’ve tapped into for inspiration. As a little idea this was dinner for day one of our new year, new me start:

Tuna-Corn Green Salad

So Saturday past I spent on the beach… enjoying an early morning workout with bambi legs  – some interval running on the sand to get the cardio working and then squats, star-jumps and other cool nature type exercises that give you an all round full-body workout plus a super awesome view of mother nature.

Needless to say we worked up quite an appetite, so we popped over to mine where I whipped up some Oat-meal, almond and Greek Yogurt flapjacks with a variety of fruit and maple syrup as well as some dried bacon (less fat), poached eggs and cherry tomatoes in organic balsamic vinegar.

Note that the recipe I used for my flap jacks was adapted slightly from the original, which I got from Ambitious Kitchen

(http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2013/02/fluffy-greek-yogurt-blueberry-pancakes-with-strawberry-maple-syrup/#) as I wanted to accommodate my mom I made mine gluten free by substituting the 1 cup of flower with 1/2 almond flour and the other 1/2 with gluten free oatmeal. I also had some ready made cinnamon apples which I made a few weeks earlier so I figured instead of using the fruit she used to top her flap jacks, I I would use those, along with some other fruit for all to have their pick. 

DSC01626

Apologies for some of the poor picture quality… the camera’s lens was a little steamed up and moggy from the fresh beach air from earlier the morning.

Saturday Morning Health Breakfast

DSC01630

DSC01629

DSC01612

DSC01642

 

It was an awesome morning for mind, body and soul. I especially loved the time I spent with my precious family… getting fit and healthy together.

 Happy Baking Guys

cupcake-couture.jpg

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

3 responses »

  1. Lovely Shani! 🙂

    I always love reading your hearty yummy posts! We should do a bring & breakie some time! Picnic style! 🙂

    P..s. What does almond flour go for more or less? I’d like to buy some for a recipe I’d like to try… And is there a preferred kind?

    xxx

    Reply
      • I got the Almond flour from Dischem… they have a great range of raw and organic foods, which I love. There are different brands, but I think mine is “Good Life” and it was like R80.00 odd for 500g – you can use this to substitute flour… but you much just play around with it a little to get the texture you’re looking for as it is very different to flour because of the lack of gluten. Good luck and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes & Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

