RSS Feed

2013 Year in review

This post is without a doubt dedicated to all my family, friends, fellow bloggers and bakers alike who experienced 2013 from either the crazy kitchen or on the receiving end of a delectable sugary treat handmade with much love, care and patience. Not to mention my two 4 legged fury family who spend hours with very little cuddles and attention whilst I was busy in the Kitchen baking up a storm.
 
 
IMG_00000251 
I know I still owe you guys about 3 catch up posts from a white chocolate collar to new tips and techniques… but I’m not going to make any promises as I am finding time fleet by and when I look back at the clock I’ve not done what I’ve said I would. Not a great start to the New Year with so much still on the back burner – but I endeavour to wow you all and get onto writing these wrongs 🙂 So with my apology in hand I take a brief look back at 2013 and what to look out for in 2014.
 
As you all know I was pretty busy this year – not only developing new skills and techniques, but also promoting my brand. As a new kid on the home-based business block I have had so much to learn, not only about the arena I am stepping into, but also about myself and my own strengths, weaknesses and endurance.  I know that without my faith and the support from family and close friends 2013 could have been such a different year for me and my future business plans.

2013 in Review

So here is is… 2013 the year in review
– I got my hands free stand mixer, which has taken a little while to get used to, but now that I have it all down to a sing and dance I don’t think I could survive without it.  So if you want my advise do yourself a favor and save up for one of these… it’s well worth it.
 
– March was a really big month for Cupcake Couture – as we introduced ourselves to the public, not friends or family or any of their acquaintances… neutral people who did not have any prejudice in terms of the business or it’s future. I could happily agree that this was the turning point as I was able to showcase my product and it’s quality – the awesome people of Constantia loved it! Cupcake Couture has been a rolling stone ever since.

Car Boot Sale_Market Day

– My sister graduated with her honors in June, which was a special time as it was a reminder that hard work and persistence on any area of your life pays off in the end. We also celebrated fathers day and even though we love our dad dearly everyday… it was awesome to really celebrate him and what he means to us.  On the baking front I experimented with an array of tarts and meringues.
 
DSC00126
 
– July is Birthday month in our household as we celebrate both my mom and sisters birthday… it was also the month I prepped for my first big project of the year.
 
– Brad and Ronel, good friends of ours were expecting their first baby, so I was asked to do their baby shower cake and other sweet treats. I enjoyed this project immensely as I got to be creative, challenge myself a little as well as use baby pink and purple. It was a beautiful and blessed day with perfect weather that truly reflected mom and baby.

556713_10151775978076047_183918052_n

– It was another busy month, September… making a bible cake for a churches birthday celebration as well as a semi traditional wedding cake for friends of ours. Looking back remembering the joy experienced at this time, not only for the business opportunities, but also for the opening doors and the opportunity to really showcase aspiring towards your dreams no matter what the obstacles ahead my present.
 
 
DSC00678
 
– October, November had me busy in a very different way; although still very much on the business it was more the administrative side rather than the baking aspect. I attended a small business workshop at the V&A Waterfront and submitted my business plan to Business Partners. I learnt so much invaluable information in these two months and the support I received from complete strangers was so overwhelming. October also had me have the privilege of working on a super awesome 60th birthday for one of the most amazing people in my life – real organic roses on a 2 tier chocolate cake with a white chocolate collar.

DSC00794

December is the festive season and with it comes joy and laughter and a reminder of those we have lost along the way. A time of reflection and thanks giving for the many blessings received in the year. I was given a surprise party for my birthday from my husband and enjoyed yet another awesome Christmas with my family – we are all happy and healthy… looking forward to the New Year.
 
Picture 022
 
If I had to describe 2013 in a few words I would definitely say it was a year for learning new things, taking on new challenges and pursuing old dreams. A year not without it’s challenges, but now that it’s done I can look back and be so thankful for the people I surround myself with and count my many, many blessings.
 
So what does 2014 have in store for Cupcake Couture – well if I left it entirely to my imagination and dreams I would need plenty more days in the year. 1 thing I can be certain of though is that this is the year we take a little more risk and a few more steps to the ultimate goal.

2014

With this I would love to thank you all for your love and support in 2013 and wish you all a joyous and prosperous 2014 – may this be a special year for you whatever you have set aside to achieve.

Thanks

cupcake-couture.jpg

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

3 responses »

  1. Wishing you success on this journey. I know how much you sacrifice to make the business work. Most of al I see your passion, love and hard work. Face every challenge with faith and believe in yourself. God bless.

    Reply
  2. Marilyn Pamplin

    2017: Shani I know how much you miss baking all these decadent treats. I know that you will be blessed this year to get an oven to start baking again. I know how much you long to experiment all your new ideas. God’s favour .Bless the hand mind soul sand body.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes & Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

