RSS Feed

There’s a Fairy in the Garden

Hi everyone… yes it’s been a long while since I last posted anything on my blog – but like I’ve said before having a Facebook page has made things easier to get things out there quickly, however maybe a little lazier to. On my last post I promised to let you in on a few tips and I have not, so while things are little quieter at the office I can get a great deal of catching up done – so expect a few more posts pop up in the days leading up to Christmas.
 
I have posted these pic’s on Facebook, but wanted to share it with my blog followers as I know a few of you don’t do the Facebook thing. Anyway for those of you who know me well, you know I am crazy about all things mystical and magical – you know like dragons and wizards and gnomes, elves and Fairies. So I was asked last week to do a little girls 3rd birthday cake and to my surprise it was a Fairy inspired request.
 
It was a little last minute but I jumped at the opportunity because I just knew I would have loads of fun. So I started off with the basic idea of using that Large Cupcake and converting that into a toadstool the colours were white and pink, so I tried to keep in with that by making the toadstool reflective of that.
 
Fairy 3
 
Fairy 4
 
Fairy 5
 
They also requested 6 cupcakes, but due to the size and trying to keep things proportionate I went with 12 mini cupcakes in 2 different pink and white cups and frosting enhancers. I will probably mention this a few times in this post, but I had so much fun doing this cake – it was like the whole thing became more alive as each part fitted into the other.
 Fairy 10
 
I must apologies in advance for the poor quality of my pictures, but somehow I managed to get a sticky print on my lens and only realized once I was busy downloading them onto my PC. I am sure though that this won’t be my last Fairy cake, I can’t promise the next will be exactly the same as I do love providing a unique order for each client.
 
Copy of Fairy 6
 
Fairy 2
 
So I am well in the festive swing with cookie dough coming out my ears in preparation for those festive treats for the tree and kiddies who may come knocking. Orders for cakes and cupcakes are also lined up. There are also some more birthday orders in between, so it’s a busy time. Lucky I got my gifts all pretty sorted, my dad the last on the list, but probably the toughest – still have no idea what to get the guy… any ideas?
 
How is your Christmas prep going? Have any helpful hints or tips on how you plan and prevent the crazy rush… please share I am sure we would all love to hear from you.
 
Happy Baking
cupcake-couture.jpg
About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes & Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

