RSS Feed

Easter long week-end has come and gone

Easter is a really special celebration in the Christian calendar and the menu choices from savory to sweet usually has some or other symbolic meaning or reference to the event. Personally I am sure there is a great deal more tradition tied up in it all more than anything else – but that’s just an opinion.

Long weekend mash up

I know, in my household pickled fish and hot cross buns are a tradition and usually eating meat during this time is a huge no-no. My husband is the pickle fish King  – much to my unhappiness as I am not a fish lover and can’t stand the smell of onions, so he know’s to be busy while I am out the house… I love the hot cross buns though and could eat them all year round. But for the record, and not because he’s a follower .. I need to admit that if I am having any pickled fish it’s his – it tastes awesome and a meal I could happily enjoy!!!!!!

This Easter the menu was as follows:

Hot cross buns

Easter Friday

Pickled Fish

Hot-cross buns

Chocolate brownies and cream

Husbands awesome Pickled Fish

We don’t have any young children in the house so an Easter egg hunt was not on the list for the days events; however it would have been a great idea to get the adults to have a bit of fun – but I’m sure the dogs would have gotten to the hiding spots long before we did. Not ideal, so we’ll place that event on hold – for now.

Easter Sunday

Pickle Fish starter

Chicken pie mains

Carrot cupcakes and coffee dessert

Easter Sunday...

My mom was away this long week-end, so it was just the usual 4 (Dad, sister and husband)… we missed her loads though so we kept her updated with loads of pic’s and messages.

Carrot Cupcakes and Decor

Easter cakes

I didn’t make a super big deal of dessert this year, I think it’s because I needed to take full advantage of the long week-end and fit so many other things in. I promise next year I plan on making my own Hot cross buns and the creativity scale for the dessert, coffee/tea area will also climb a few notches so watch out 2014.

I spent the day out with my awesome sister the Saturday and ended the long week-end off with a really funny and witty movie… if you have some time you should rent it or catch it this month on DSTV as I see it’s on the movie line up for the month.

Julie&Julia

I don’t want to say to much about the movie, as I don’t want to spoil it for you – but for every baker/cook blogger this would be a real treat and awesome laugh.

I trust you all had a Blessed Easter long week-end, I know I did

Happy Baking

cupcake-couture.jpg

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes & Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

