RSS Feed

Birthday Surprise

Happy Birthday

… Nope it was not my birthday, but it was my husband’s. A while ago now actually (February), but as always I’ve just been a little preoccupied with work so haven’t had a chance to share what we did.

I was stressed out and in such a panic about what to get my husband as a gift. The funniest thing is that when we were dating I always had the most creative gift idea’s and I was able to surprise him. However now that we live under one roof it really is so difficult. So instead of going it solo we did a family dinner where the load of the “surprise” burden was carried by all.


My dad made the arrangements for the small, but rather thoughtful gift as well as dinner for just my parents, my sister and the two of us. I invited a few friends we usually see on the day and some family, to a after dinner cake and tea at our house… nothing huge. The idea was for it all to be one big surprise.

Husband's Birthday Dinner

Husband’s Birthday Dinner

Awesome evening

Awesome evening

But alas, the surprise did not work out the way we would have hoped at all… my dad was just so excited he kinda gave the surprise away and my husband – well he played along with a huge smile and a unforgettable laugh.

The restaurant we went to is called “Jamaica Me Crazy”  they not only have great food, but an awesome vibe. The people are laid back and friendly and lucky for us it just so happened to be Bob Marley’s birthday on the same day so cocktails were half price. We really enjoyed the evening and after all the planning the day finally arrived.

For the tea and cake I made a milk tart which is my husbands ultimate favorite and a moist layer chocolate cake…

Birthday Chocolate layer cake and a large milk/custard tart

Birthday Chocolate layer cake and a large milk/custard tart

Just to add I managed to pull off my part of the for as long as the first guest arrived at our house, but all in all he was happy and swore it was the best birthday ever.

Friends and Family enjoying Birthday Cake Cont

Friends and Family enjoying Birthday Cake

Thanks so much to all of you who made it, especially since it was a week night… and for those that didn’t, there’s always next year.

Happy Baking

cupcake-couture.jpg

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

One response »

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Husband! | Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes and Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

