RSS Feed

Belated Happy New Year

Belated Happy New Year
Hi All
 
It has been 3 months, almost 4, since my last post – absolutely shocking!!!! I feel horribly for starting the new year off so late and not even ending off last year with a Christmas post. 
 
So Happy Belated New Year to all of you – I hope that the new and exciting things to come this year will bring with it new adventures for me as a novas blogger-baker and increased interaction from you guys. I really do enjoy reading your posts.
 
I plan on sharing a bunch of pictures of all the fun and creative things I’ve been up to over the past few months and I trust that you will enjoy it. If you have questions or would like me to post demo video’s or full recipes let me know and I will do so.
 
As I am sure some of you may know, my dream is to have a coffee shop someday and I am steadily working on that dream one cupcake at a time. Maybe just to share…. I’ve been occupying a great deal of free time on perfecting new recipes and really expanding my portfolio. I’ve also taken some bold steps out of the supportive and comforting environment of family and close friends by exposing my product to complete strangers.
 
I’ve really had so much fun with my baking lately and it’s thanks to the awesomeness of my husband , mom, dad and sister – I really could not have done it without them. Always willing to taste-test new idea’s and provide honest feedback and criticisms that make the next attempt so much closer to perfection. 
 
Well here are some of what I’ve been up to… please leave your thoughts, idea’s and general comments – as I’ve said so many times I really do appreciate and enjoy them.
 
I went to a Christmas decorating workshop with a dear friend and was delighted at the cute and simple ideas for place settings, cake toppers or edible Christmas tree decorations.
Christmas Fondant Decorations
 
Since this workshop I’ve been purchasing cool plunger cutters, that make creating these great decorations a little easier.
 
As you know purchasing Christmas or even Birthday gifts can be extremely expensive if you have a large family or even difficult when you’re not sure what to get. I find that baking or making something useful is a wonderful way of  getting around this.
 
So below are the gifts that family and friends received this Christmas past. Either a cupcake box with chocolate and carrot cupcakes or two mini bunt chocolate and carrot cakes. The large carrot cake was a gift I made for my sister to give to someone special.
Christmas Gift Cupcakes and Cakes
 
Really special because you can just taste the love with every bite:-)
 
I’ve also been following some awesome blogs, which I will share with you, that have the coolest idea’s and video tutorials that make picking up the technique so simple. I have to add it requires a bit of out of the box thinking from our side; as South African’s, as so many of the ingredients or products we don’t have here. I substitute a great deal of the items with things I can find locally and more often than not it’s a perfect substitute.
 
Like these window cookies…. aren’t they pretty. A real treat for birthdays or themed tea parties. I also got a yuppie chef voucher from my adoring sister so I got some letter press cutters which work a treat…
Vanilla and Chocolate Cookies
 
I promise to post again soon… enjoy the rest of your days and as always…
 
                                                                        ♥Happy Baking♥
                                                                                        ♥
                                                                                 CupCake
About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

One response »

  1. I just LOVE those window cookies!!!! Absolutely Delicious and they look so cool…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes and Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

