RSS Feed

Did anyone say Florentine’s?

Florentines are a sticky, crunchy, sweet treat that my Dad absolutely adores. He usually purchases us all one at least once a week. They are rather pricy for an indulgence that has very little ingredients… and since I totally adore my dad I decided to try my hand at it and make it specially for him. 

 

                                                                 I should warn you, the work that goes into the end product is rather sneaky…

 

I am sure that you can be very creative with the mixture if you want, but I decided to stick to the instructions as much as possible… For a single batch you will need 100g chopped glazed cherries, 100g silvered almonds, 2tbs mixed peel, 1/2 cup sultana’s, 2 cups corn flakes, 250g good quality dark chocolate and 2/3 condense milk (the recipe says the extra sweetened variety, but the regular tin is jut as good and totally sweet enough). The other little adaptations that I made was to double the mixture and add pecan nuts and raisins instead of almonds and sultana’s again.

 

I got so excited when I realised that you just chuck all the ingredients in at one time and mix it… do try to mix this as delicately as possible though, to avoid breaking to much of the corn flakes – as broken flakes would just spoil the effect.

I must say that purchasing the ingredients and the mixing of it all was definitely quick and totally the easy part. The placing onto the baking trays are not only time-consuming but a little tricky as the mixture is so sticky and the baking is hands on… it goes so quickly and because there is so much sugar the chances of creating charcoal is a much more likely outcome if you do not stay close by. Hence the fact that I said the end product is sneaky as there is a lot more to the rough and ready looking treat. 

The recipe says you should pre-heat your oven to 170°C, but I think this really depends on the heat strength of your oven… I turned it right down to 140ºC and it baked for about 15 Min. I should add that the smell in the kitchen with toasting sugar was more than glorious and totally put me in a Spring happy mood. The end result was also not bad for my first try; and my dad… well lets just say that he was more than smiling from ear to ear and I’m getting a groceries list that includes his Florentine goodies weekly.

I hope you guys enjoy and thanks so much to all of you who are leaving comments and following me. I love the interaction so much and hope the baking brings as much joy to you as it does to me.

I have gotten my wedding pictures back, and since summer is fast approaching it is that season in the year when brides, and grooms to be are thinking of choosing their dream wedding cake for their special day; so it got me thinking that I should do a little post on wedding cakes and give you a sneak peak of what I created for my own wedding a couple of months ago.

Happy Florentining

CupCake

About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

5 responses »

  1. WoW!!!….Those lil things were delicious Hunny!!!! You’re the Bestest!!! I Love your Florentine’s:-)
    More, More, More PLEASE……..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes & Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

