RSS Feed

Where to purchase trendy but tasty Treats in Cape Town

Coffee shops have always been around, often for the more exclusive crowd, but like the trendy cupcake ,they too have revolutionised the bakery. Bakeries now do a deli, bakery, coffee shop trio and make the kind of sweet delights to die for. So I am going to share some of my best… with links you are welcome to brows.

 Many of these links have on-line contacts and followings on twitter and Facebook, providing you with updated information. Charly’s Bakery appears to be the “it” place at the moment and can be viewed on-line at this url http://www.charlysbakery.co.za/.

They have an amazing on-line gallery of cakes that they have done for a number of events and come with raving reviews. I have however not had the pleasure, but plan to pop around before the year is through.

Caremello’s, now only found in Bloem… is a really vibey coffee shop come bakery; as it’s relaxed and very retro – found quite by chance.

They make the most amazing milktarts, so great it will even convert the strongest critique. I know they make to order and do great sweet platters as well. Their url is http://www.caramellos.co.za/.

Another aspect that I like very much is that they share their recipes online, I like this as it gives me a chance to try my hand at something new and often more gourmet – especially now that I can’t just take a quick drive to upper kloof to get my Sunday Fix.

Queen of tarts is also another bakery that comes with glowing reviews, and again I can not say I have personal experience of their sweet offerings. Their url is as follows http://www.queenoftarts.co.za/contact.htm and boasts a stunning photo gallery.

I have been to Limno’s and although their displays and product looks great, I find that they are over priced and a little over bearing with the essence they put in some of their cakes. However do not let me make up your mind. Their url is as follows http://www.limnosbakers.co.za/ and just maybe you try something you can recommend that makes me change my mind.

My all time favourite, although not a coffee shop is Cassis Bakery in Constantia village – other branches do however have coffee shops attached. They come with a very strong French heritage, and make the traditional South African favourites with a French twist, that I love. Their products are well presented and taste’s better than the money you pay for it. Their home page can be found at this url http://www.cassis.co.za/ and again they do not disappoint – a must try is their chocolate tart, amazing macaroons, peach tart… I could go on, but I’ll leave it up to you.
Happy Tasting!!!
About Shani's CakeCouture

I am a qualified social worker... who works for an IT company and loves, loves, loves baking. My two very adorable dogs basically rule my life with their cuteness and I have a loving, supportive husband who needs to deal with it all...

One response »

Leave a Reply

Sweetopia

Sugary Decadence

Ambitious Kitchen

Sweet Treats + Healthy Eats

Queen of Tarts

Sugary Decadence

Wichman Party Planners

Sugary Decadence

munchinaboutandeatinout

finding-fabulous-food

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Homemade Heaven......

Sugary Decadence

How to cook an Elephant.

Sugary Decadence

Rumtumtiggs…

Just another WordPress.com site

Olivia's Kitchen

Sugary Decadence

UndomestiKATEd

Sugary Decadence

jesska.co.za

A Johannesburg based food and travel blog filled with recipes and reviews

Sugary Decadence

Cupcakes and Couscous

Sugary Decadence

Baking Made Simple

Adventures of an Amateur Baker - Sharing recipes and inspiration for cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, etc.

